29th May 1990. N.W.A. support from Above The Law, Michelle, London Posse. Hummingbird. Birmingham. £12.50.

London Posse. Cannot recall too much about them. In my old notes they get.

Rate 4 out of 10.

Above The Law went down well and put on a decent show.

Rate 7 out of 10.

Michelle. A bit more pop orientated. I think she was an early Dr Dre artist.

Rate 5 out of 10.

NWA were told by Birmingham City Council not to play Fuck Tha Police. If they did they’d be arrested. Ice Cube had just left the band. Oddly many of the crowd didn’t know this yet.

Eazy E was totally out of it and looked lost. he spent quite a lot of time just giving away T Shirts, etc.

Dr Dre was clearly the man at the helm and they put on a cool show. There was a sense of danger in the air. The gig passed without any major incidents.

Great to see Straight Outta Compton, Gangsta Gangsta, etc live.

Years later (2006) I was working in a college and a 16 year old GCSE re-sit student did a good presentation on NWA. After his presentation I told him i’d seen them live, he would not believe me at all. The next day I took my ticket (for the gig) into college to show him. You should have seen his face.

Oh by the way – they didn’t play Fuck Tha Police on the night.

Rate 9 out of 10.

2 thoughts on “29th May 1990. N.W.A. support from Above The Law, Michelle, London Posse. Hummingbird. Birmingham. £12.50.

  1. I remember this gig too, I think I still got my ticket stub somewhere, a kind of redish pink colour, they did actually did do a version of ‘fuck the police’ although the crowd was singing the ‘fuck the police’ bits. We were young and nieve at the time, not understanding the politics and agenda that were unfolding for the next 25+ years to come. Also I heard rumours that the hummingbird never actually had a licence for such performances?.

Leave a Reply

