18th May 2003. Goldfrapp. Academy 2. birmingham. £10.00.

I’d never heard Goldfrapp. I’d heard of them but figured it was not my thing. Arm twisted by a mate I trundled off to see them, at a tenner what had I to lose? The venue was rammed, they should have played downstairs?

First song a minute or so in I can recall now thinking “erm, what’s that incredible sound?” For a good 30 seconds that it took to sink in I was fairly stunned to realize it was her voice! A truly incredible vocal. As stated not my thing but the unique talent was very evident.

In short I guess they deserve their place due to their obvious talent. I wouldn’t and haven’t listened to one of their albums but you can’t deny talent when you see / hear it.

Rate 9 out of 10 (purely for that mouth open moment of realization of the singers amazing voice).

Leave a Reply

