Talking Heads – Once In A Lifetime

On February 2nd, 1981, Talking Heads released what became one of their most popular songs Once In A Lifetime. It is easily amongst the two best songs I have ever heard by the said group.

Confession time. I have never heard a Talking Heads album in full. I cannot imagine they have many (any) better songs than this. In 1981 the song was arty yet very accesible and peaked at Number 14 in the UK Singles Chart. The single had a great sleeve and I bought it as soon as I physically saw it from Woolworths as an 11 year old kid.

At Glastonbury in the late 80’s I watched the Stop Making Sense film / concert in a field and have always had a lot of respect for a band I really should have investigated further…

Talking-Heads-Once-in-a-Lifetime

Leave a Reply

