The Moody Blues – Nights In White Satin

When I was about 7 years of age my Mum would play records, on a turntable, and I’d generally think ‘humm’ (not much), when is Pipkins on? The records would be : The Beatles, Abba, Blondie, The Beatles, David Essex, The Small Faces, Abba, 10cc, The Beatles and more Beatles.

The Beatles and Abba songs went in like nursery rhymes. Yes, they were / are great records but this was all out of my control and I took these artists for granted. To be honest, despite their sheer Pop supremacy I was disinterested.

Very occasionally my Mum would play a record by The Moody Blues which seemed to top all of the other songs she played. The song was dark yet other worldly in it’s charm and tone. Despite the fact that the cover of the physical record slightly scared me I would silently listen to this song with her. It was the best song she would play, but I would say nothing or else I may get a Waterloo backlash.

The video, which I’ve only just watched for the first time looks very Sgt. Pepper and should probably be ignored. The song however remains enchanting. Possibly the best song to come out of Birmingham ever, but it could have come from anywhere. Timeless…

The_Moody_Blues_-_Nights_in_white_satin_7''

Leave a Reply

