Erykah Badu – Twinkle, THAT ending.

Erykah Badu is an artist that has attracted a lot of critical acclaim. 1997’s Baduizm I noticed being purchased by the more selective customers in the record shop in which I worked. I figured it probably wasn’t music for me though.

In 2008 I came across the artists 4th album New Amerykah Part One and put it on my iPod. I listened to the album on a train commute one morning on the way to Sutton Coldfield. I was right, the music whilst good, wasn’t for me.

One song sent a chill through me though in the way only the very best of music / art can. The end of the song Twinkle phases into a sample from the movie Network. This is no idle sample but one that marks the current times very accurately. As a result I listen to Twinkle whenever it crosses my mind (about once a year), like today…

Erykah_Badu

Leave a Reply

