The National – Bloodbuzz Ohio.

The National are a band that are truly worth investigating and listening to, a lot. I have only heard the bands 4th and 5th studio albums, quite recently too. Already the songs that sit on those albums are songs that will live with me for the rest of my life, they are that good.

Musically The National are very accessible. I cannot imagine anyone that spends time listening to this band and allowing the songs to grow will dislike them. As musicians the band are very talented. The music, lyrics, mood and tone hit nerves that many other bands cannot.

A perfect reference would be Joy Division yet The National are a very different band to Manchester’s finest. The similarities are there – so why not get lost in them? As dumb as it feels to type, sounds and words this well crafted go beyond music and become life affirming moments of personal joy. There’s no better seal of approval than that…

Stand up straight at the foot of your love
I’ll lift my shirt up
Stand up straight at the foot of your love
I’ll lift my shirt up

I was carried to Ohio in a swarm of bees
I never married but Ohio don’t remember me

Lay my head on the hood of your car
I take it too far
Lay my head on the hood of your car
I take it too far

I still owe money to the money to the money I owe
I never thought about love when I thought about home
I still owe money to the money to the money I owe
The floors are falling out from everybody I know

I’m on a bloodbuzz
Yes I am
I’m on a blood…buzz
I’m on a bloodbuzz
God I am
I’m on a blood…buzz

I was carried to Ohio in a swarm of bees
I never married but Ohio don’t remember me

I still owe money to the money to the money I owe
I never thought about love when I thought about home
I still owe money to the money to the money I owe
The floors are falling out from everybody I know

I’m on a bloodbuzz
Yes I am
I’m on a blood…buzz
I’m on a bloodbuzz
God I am
I’m on a blood…buzz

2384294386_65b1aefbbf

Leave a Reply

