Dead Kennedys – Nazi Punks Fuck Off.

In 1985 I heard the Dead Kennedys for the first time. I’ve mused over already the mind expanding qualities of the band. They are a bar to some extent. If you like the Dead Kennedys, or at least their ethos then we’ll probably get along.

Nazi Punks Fuck Off goes straight to the point. It’s a classic and deservedly so. The band mean more to me than practically any other band – Ever. I can recall seeing The Damned at their 10th anniversary gig (Finsbury Park). I was wearing a Dead Kennedys ‘Halloween’ t-shirt that I bought at Glastonbury for a £1. All of a sudden a skinhead looked at me like he wanted a fight. I would never fight but would not be scared by his stares. I looked back with a look that said ‘yeah?’. I was a kid, 16 but I had principles. Thankfully he got lost in the crowd and nothing more happened. A classic single that the lyrics will explain more than my ramblings. Not many songs this powerful out there…

Dead+Kennedys+-+Nazi+Punks+Fuck+Off+-+7%22+RECORD-354227

Punk ain’t no religious cult
Punk means thinking for yourself
You ain’t hardcore cos you spike your hair
When a jock still lives inside your head

Nazi punks
Nazi punks
Nazi punks-Fuck Off!

Nazi punks
Nazi punks
Nazi punks-Fuck Off!

If you’ve come to fight, get outa here
You ain’t no better than the bouncers
We ain’t trying to be police
When you ape the cops it ain’t anarchy

[Repeat chorus]

Ten guys jump one, what a man
You fight each other, the police state wins
Stab your backs when you trash our halls
Trash a bank if you’ve got real balls

You still think swastikas look cool
The real nazis run your schools
They’re coaches, businessmen and cops
In a real fourth reich you’ll be the first to go

[Repeat chorus]

You’ll be the first to go
You’ll be the first to go
You’ll be the first to go
Unless you think

Leave a Reply

