Pussy Riot – What year is this again?

I was going to continue my Pink Floyd reflective album posts but I have been putting this off largely because I do not, for the first real-time, like the album that is coming up.

I didn’t really know how or why but this blog attracts around 500 hits a day. Sometimes more, sometimes less but it’s fairly consistent so really, let me thanks for reading whoever and wherever you are.

So instead of blogging about an album I do not like, tonight, I thought I’d post about something I have just read in yesterdays newspaper which could do with more support. Inevitably the newspaper article (in The Guardian) led me online to check out the story more and to listen to the band in question.

In short, three women from Russian alternative band Pussy Riot have been jailed in Russia for performing a protest song in a Moscow church criticising Vladimir Putin. Read that again. Jailed for performing a song. 

The band face up to 7 years in prison. Fortunately support from artists with worldwide appeal (Faith No More, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Madonna, er, Sting, Franz Ferdinand) is swelling and with this hopefully pressure on the Russian authorities.

It is 2012 isn’t it? apologies for the ramble but if this article reaches one person that is, (like I was before today), unaware of the story – then it is a better use of my time than me forcing myself to listen to Animals by Pink Floyd (which I may do tomorrow!)

Spread the word…

Leave a comment